Best voice to text app: how to choose

The best voice to text app is the one that works where you type, on your computer, at a price you are happy with, so this guide gives you the checks to run and a dated table of real options.

Free for 2,200 words a week, with paid plans for more. See the plans

Facts checked on 6 November 2026 against each maker’s own website.

Shown with Advanced formatting switched on. Every plan has it.

The short answer

There is no single best voice to text app for everyone. The right choice depends on four things: which computer you use, whether you need it to work offline, what you can spend, and how much you want the text tidied for you. Whether you search for the best dictation app or the best speech to text software, the checks are the same.

Start with the free built-in tool on your computer. If it is not enough, use the checks below to pick an app. Then test it with your own voice for ten minutes before you pay anything.

Eight checks before you choose

  1. Does it type into every app you use? Some tools only work in one program, such as a single word processor. Others type into any text box.
  2. Does it run on your computer? Check Windows, Mac and phones separately. Many tools cover some and not others.
  3. Does it need the internet? Offline tools help if you travel or work somewhere with a poor connection.
  4. How does it start and stop? Some apps use hold-to-talk. Some use press once to start and again to stop. Pick the one your hands prefer.
  5. How tidy is the text? Look for punctuation, capital letters and removal of “um” and “uh”. Say a long sentence and see what comes out.
  6. Can you teach it your words? Names, companies and jargon are where tools slip most. A word list helps.
  7. What does it cost after the free part? Look at the weekly or monthly word limit on the free plan, and compare monthly and yearly prices.
  8. What does your workplace require? Some employers ask for security paperwork. Check what the maker says on its own site.

Whatever you choose, read what it typed before you send it.

A table of real options

Facts below are as shown on each maker’s own page on 6 November 2026. Prices are in US dollars and can change, so check the maker’s page before you buy. “Not stated” means the page we read did not say.

Option Where it runs Price shown Works offline
Windows voice typing (Windows key + H) Windows 10 and 11 Built in; page mentions no price No, needs internet
Apple Dictation Mac Built in; page mentions no price Not stated (Apple says to check a setting)
Google Docs voice typing Inside Google Docs, in Chrome, Edge or Safari Page mentions no price Not stated
Wispr Flow Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android Free plan; Pro $15 a month, or $12 a month paid yearly Not stated
Superwhisper Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android Free plan; Pro $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once Yes, on your computer
Spokenly Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone Free with local models; Pro $12 a month, billed $144 a year Yes, with local models
Dragon Professional v16 Windows 10 and 11 No price shown (“Contact us”) Not stated
Talkativ Windows and Mac Free 2,200 words a week; Pro $7 a month or $56 a year No, needs internet

Sources: Microsoft on voice typing, Apple on Dictation, Google on voice typing, Wispr Flow pricing, Superwhisper plans, Spokenly pricing and Dragon Professional. Free options for Windows, with each limit, are in our free dictation software for Windows guide.

Which one should you choose?

  • Choose the built-in tool if you dictate now and then, mostly into one program, and you are happy to fix the odd mistake yourself.
  • Choose an offline app such as Superwhisper, Spokenly or Handy if you must work without the internet, or you want your audio to stay on your computer.
  • Choose Wispr Flow or Superwhisper if you want dictation on your phone as well as your computer.
  • Choose Dragon if your workplace already uses it and supports it. Nuance’s page shows no price, so ask for current pricing. Our Dragon NaturallySpeaking alternatives page covers its current range.
  • Choose a free plan with a word limit if you want to see whether dictation fits your day before you spend anything. Talkativ is one such plan.

For a closer look at one well-known app and the options around it, see Wispr Flow alternatives. If you are wondering what “AI” adds to dictation, read what is AI dictation.

Where Talkativ fits

Talkativ is a dictation app for Mac and Windows. Press Ctrl + Space on Windows, ⌥ Option + Space on a Mac, speak, press again, and your words appear where your cursor is, in any app. It adds punctuation and capital letters, takes out filler words, and keeps a Vocabulary list for your names. Free gives you 2,200 words a week with no card. Pro is $7 a month or $56 a year. Languages: 100, highly accurate in 56.

What it does not do: it does not work offline, it does not transcribe audio files, and it has no phone app. It is press to start and press to stop, not hold to talk, and the shortcuts are fixed. If any of those is a deal-breaker, pick another option from the table.

To see it work, try the demo at the top of this page, or read about Talkativ on Windows and Talkativ on Mac. Back to the home page.

Questions

The short answers. More questions

It depends on your computer. Windows has voice typing built in (the Windows key + H), and the Mac has Dictation. Some apps have free plans with a word limit, and some open-source tools run on your computer at no cost. Try the built-in tool first, then test a free plan with your own voice.

Try the built-in tool first. If it types where you need it, punctuates well enough and you do not mind fixing the rest, you may not need anything else. An app earns its place when you want cleaner text, your own word list, or one shortcut that works in every program.

Some tools do and some do not. Windows voice typing needs an internet connection, according to Microsoft. Superwhisper, Spokenly and Handy say they run on your computer and work offline. Talkativ does not work offline.

It varies by voice, microphone, room and subject. Any single number a maker quotes is for its own test. The fairest way to compare is to dictate the same two paragraphs, with your own names in them, into each tool you are considering.

Speak. It’s written.

Free for 2,200 words a week, on Mac and Windows.